For Crying Out Loud

IMG_20170607_072058994

The word “cry” was very insistent that I use it today. I may have missed something that I should be mourning or calling out. Truthfully, I can’t keep up, so I’m hoping this isn’t a warning about whatever catastrophe could happen today.

It could be something that I’m writing.

I hope it’s not a work problem.

Here’s what I’m unable to target: the blue-purple thing. Is this synecdoche (link to definition, opens in a new window) at work? What’s the metaphor?

*EDIT:

I think I figured it out. Just discovered that an assignment that I produced in a workshop in a for-profit educational institution is being disseminated without my permission. It is a live document that I use in classes and has my contact information with a photo. They are making money on my (apparently stellar) work. This is a copyright violation, unless there was some hidden clause when we signed up for the course that gave away our rights to our own work. The problem is that the institution claims to own the materials that can then not be reproduced.

A little bit of research into psychological color symbolism tells me that blue= “the color of trust and peace. It can suggest loyalty and integrity,” and purple = “the color of the imagination. It can be creative and individual or immature and impractical.” ( opens in a new window)

I did, indeed, send an email to call this out, and also double checked with my lawyers about this as a copyright violation.

-Dr. Pyrate

Leave a Reply

